The History of WCARES, in Williamson County, Tennessee

The Williamson County Amateur Radio Emergency Service (WCARES) is a public service group of Amateur Radio operators who live in Williamson County, Tennessee and surrounding counties. The chemistry that makes WCARES so successful is hard to explain. The timing of the startup of the organization, the spirit of people involved, the unparalleled support of the Williamson County Mayor, Board of Commissioners and County Department Directors have all come together in a way that you could not have imagined. In turn, the members of WCARES show their appreciation to the county by working harder and doing more to support the county efforts. The two groups complement each other, and the result is an outstanding relationship which benefits both groups. Much of the success of WCARES goes to the Emergency Coordinators who have led WCARES from its inception to the present time. The discussion below provides a history of how we got from there to here and the leaders that made it happen.

Jeff Schwartz, KC1DWP – Current Emergency Coordinator

Every 2 years WCARES nominates a member to become the Emergency Coordinator.  This person is tasked with spear-heading all official business and initiatives of the organization.  In addition, this person is essential in coordination of emergency and training activities to aid our served agency and their affiliates.

Jeff Schwartz, KC1DWP currently holds this position.  

WCARES members are grateful to Jeff and his predecessors for their hard work and sacrifices.

Links to the Emergency Coordinators – Present and Past:

Jeff Schwartz, KC1DWP – Jan 2023 – present
Jeff Standifer, WB5WAJ – Jan 2022 – Dec 2022
Ed Hudgens, WB4RHQ – Jan 2020 – Dec 2021
Randy Moore, KK4SRO – Jan 2018 – Dec 2019
Jeff Standifer, WB5WAJ – Jan 2016 – Dec 2017
Scott Gray, KD4VVC – 2014 – 2015
Gary Hedden, W8JFP – Jan 2012 – Dec 2013
Jack Cox, KA4OTB – Jan 2009 – Dec 2011
Myron Manker, W4UR – Mar 2006 – Dec 2008
Bill ‘Fearless Leader’ Gerth, W4RK – Jan 2004 – Feb 2006
Randy ‘Doc Randy’ Oakes, W4EMS – 2000 – Dec 2003
Gene Pentecost, W4IMT – 1998 – 1999